Search

Introduction of Pottery--Learning how to throw by simple steps

Updated: Dec 10, 2020

The introduction of pottery


Pottery is one of the oldest human invention. Clay figures discovered in the Crezh Republic dates back to 29,000BC; vessels found in Jiangxi, China dates back to 18,000BC and pre – Neolithic pottery artifacts found in Jomon , Japan, dates back to 10,500BC. These clay objects recorded the time, the people and the place which they were made.

Usually made from local clay that were dugout right under their feet, hand- shaping techniques to create forms. The earliest method for firing was the use of bonfire which known as pit firing, fired up around 900 degree. Because pottery is durable, some of the greatest parts of the history of human race is acknowledged through the studies of ancient pottery artifacts; giving us the insight of the prehistoric, past of the past pre-literate cultures.









After learning a little about the history of pottery, do you know that there are also different types of clay?

There are three main types of pottery clay, let's get to know them briefly!

Earthenware was the earliest clay type used and were fired at low temperatures. Before glazes were invented, the forms were porous and could not contain any forms of liquid.









Stoneware was developed by the Chinese during Hang dynasty (202BC- 220AD), with a much stronger and non- porous quality, fired between 1,100 -1,200 degrees.











Porcelain which was also invented by the Chinese during Shang dynasty (1600-1046BC). Fired between 1,200- 1,400 degrees, the toughness, strength and translucence which was later on famously known across the world with the help along of the silk road trading.


After knowing the types of clay, let's take a look at a brief introduction to the history of throwing!



The history of wheel throwing


The wheel was invented in ancient Mesopotamia, nowadays known as Iraq, around 3,000 B.C. Although, many reliable facts have stated the ancient Sumerians were the brain behind this invention. The south-eastern Europe, China and Egypt have also been claimed to be the first ones to have developed the uses of throwing wheels.



The design was inspired by the action of coiling; a dry mat or large leaf was placed at the bottom of the vessel. Rather than walking around the vessel to add coils of clay, it allows the potter to rotate the vessel to save time and energy during making.


Before the invention of the wheel, pots were hand- shaped by pinching or coiling. The disadvantage of these hand – shaping method is that a single vessel could take up quite a long time to create.


As our societies grew and so did our everyday needs, it increased the demand of pottery making then. Responding to these demands, a number hand- shaping method were improved, such as using different tools to speed up coiling process or using what then called mould, which was made from stones and wood.



The earliest form of the wheel- the slow wheel, was slowly powdered by hand. But within a short time, the fast wheel was developed which operated on the flywheel principle. It stored energy in the rotating mass of the heavy stone wheel itself to speed the process. It was wound up and charge with energy by kicking by foot or pushing it around with a stick, providing a centrifugal force.


The fast wheel enabled a new process of pottery-making to develop, called throwing, in which a lump of clay was placed centrally on the wheel and then squeezed, lifted and shaped as the wheel turned. The process tends to leave rings on the inside of the pot and can be used to create thinner-walled pieces and a wider variety of shapes, including stemmed vessels, so wheel-thrown pottery can be distinguished from handmade. Potters could now produce many more pots per hour, a first step towards mass pottery production industry.

What and how to centring ?


The number one key factor of wheel throwing is centring. The meaning of this term is to shape the clay onto the centre of your wheel using the pressure of your hands. If the clay is not centred, it would be difficult to throw a symmetrical round shape form; even thickness through the piece and affect the turning stage.

For beginners:

  1. Overlap your fingers by 12o’clock on the wheel in front of the clay

  2. Place you left hand onto 9 o’clock and right hand by 3 o’clock.








3.Gently press the two hands towards the middle of the wheel







4. Slowly lift up your hand alongside with the clay, forming a cone shape.








5. Once the cone shape is formed, gently press down the clay with left hand wrap around and right hand holding left hand thumb


6. Slowly push down from the tip of the cone using the side part of your hand.







7. While pushing, make sure the left hand is supporting the clay in shape and right hand is firmly pushing straight down.


8. Repeat this “coning up and down “action until the clay is in the centre.

For intermediate:

For a faster centring, you can follow the same coning up and down routine by only using the two thick parts of the lower palm muscles. Locking your fingers around the cone and pulling up and pushing down with one smooth motion, this action is called kneading through the clay.









For advance:

If you are an experienced potter, you can try centring with one hand. It is the same routine of coning up and down but only with one side of your hand. Placing your strong hand around the clay, squeezing the clay into your palm with your fingers and move upwards. Pushing it down by using the thick muscles of your thumb.

After reading some tips, do you have a better grasp of throwing skills?

The last one is the precautions when you do throwing:

1. Keep your hands stable and move your hand with the clay

2. Do not let go of your hands suddenly to keep the center of the clay stable

3. Keep the clay at a proper humidity, so that the clay will not stick to your hands and cause the center to sway or add too much water to make the clay soft and collapse.

If you also have difficulties encountered during throwing, welcome to leave a comment and share with us!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

 Tung Yao Ceramics © 2017

工作室 | Studio

上環普仁街4號

No. 4 Po Yan Street, Sheung Wan

Tel.: 2989 - 2300 / 6310-0255

Whatsapp: 6015 - 6044

 

Open Hours:

Mon - Tue 10:00 - 18:00

Wed - Fri  10:00 - 20:00

Sat & Sun 10:00 - 19:00

                    

展示間 | Showroom

中環鴨巴甸街14號

14 Aberdeen Street, Central

Tel./Whatsapp:

5321 - 7707


Open Hours:

Mon - Sun  11:00 - 19:00

客製化訂單專線 | Customise Order Information

Email: showroom@tungyaoceramics.com

搜尋

陶藝入門簡介--陶藝新手也可以輕鬆學會拉坯

更新日期:10月 29

什麼是陶藝?



陶器,是一種歷史悠久的器具,在古代,常常作為一種生活用品。數十年來,考古學家在世界各地的遺址發現不少陶器遺物。當中包括在中國江西發現可以追溯到西元前18000年的陶罐碎片、在日本發現可追溯到西元前10500年前新石器時代的陶器以及在捷克發現可以追溯到西元前29000年,被稱為已知世界上最古老的陶製物品之一的陶偶維納斯。











是否很驚訝陶器原來有這般源遠悠長的歷史呢!在現今先進的科技和人類世代相傳的知識下,我們能從陶器碎片了解到它們的製作年代、地點甚至製造者的背景等等。陶器通常是以當地天然的泥土配上手工塑造形狀再燒製而成。最早的燒窯方法是使用篝火,也就是所謂的坑燒,燒窯溫度在900度左右。陶器的耐用性使其得以保存很長的時間,這讓我們能通過對古代陶器文物的研究來更深的了解和認識不同時代的文化、習俗、手工藝技術。

認識了一點陶器的歷史後,大家又是否知道陶泥也有不同的種類呢?

陶泥主要有三種類型,讓我們來簡單認識一下吧!

-Earthenware陶器,是最早使用的陶泥類型,並在低溫下(1200度以下)燒制的。在釉料發明之前,陶器坯體是多孔的,不能用以承載液體。









-Stoneware陶石器 是中國人在漢朝時期(西元前202BC-220年)發明的,具有更堅固和不透水的質量,在1100-1200度之間燒制。











-中國人在商朝(西元前1600-1046年)更發明了瓷器(Porcelain)。燒製溫度在1200-1400度之間,這種泥不論在韌性、强度和半透明性上都比從前的優勝,其後在絲綢之路貿易的幫助下變得舉世聞名。



看完陶泥的種類後,現在讓我們來探討一下陶器的塑造吧!

先來看一看拉坯技術歷史的小簡介



拉坯到底是什麼呢?

拉坯機是在西元前3000年左右在古代的美索不達米亞(今稱伊拉克)被發明的,許多資料皆印證了古代蘇美爾人是這項發明背後的主人。而東南歐、中國和埃及也被稱為最早開發出拉坯技術的國家。

隨著社會的發展,大家在日常中對陶器的需求也愈來愈高。陶藝家為了應對不同的要求繼而改進了一些手工成型的方法,如使用不同的工具來增加泥條成形的過程,又或者使用石頭和木材所製成的模具來增加陶器的形狀類別。


據說,拉坯技術的靈感是來自泥條成形技術;起初,人們會在容器底部放一塊幹墊子或一片大葉子。在拉坯機發明之前,陶器是用手捏或泥條成形的,但這樣實在是太慢了!有了新發明後,陶藝家不再需要繞著容器走來圍繞出泥條,而是讓拉坯機旋轉陶器,從而節省了不少製作時間。

最早形式的拉坯機是手動轉盤,手動轉盤需要用手產生動力,慢慢地轉動轉盤。但在不久之後,人們根據飛輪原理開發出了快速轉盤。通過用腳踢或者用棍子攪動,產生一種離心力,令沉重的石輪旋轉,其速度比手動轉盤快了不少!

這個快速的陶器形成方法稱之為拉坯,即一塊陶泥被放在轉盤的中央,然後隨著轉盤的轉動而擠壓、提高和成形。經過這一過程後,陶泥會變成甜甜圈狀,拉坯技術不但讓人們能製作出更薄的陶器,也提高了陶器的產量,可說是陶藝界發展的一里程碑。

如何定中心?

拉坯的首要技術是定中心。”定中心”的意思是利用手的壓力把陶泥定位在轉盤的中心。如果陶泥不置中,則很難形成對稱的圓形形狀,即使厚度均勻,也會影響旋轉階段,這是初學者常常會遇到的問題。

初學者的基本拉坯技巧:

1. 將手指重疊在陶泥上,並在轉盤的12點鐘方向。

2. 左手放在陶泥的9點鐘方向,右手放在陶泥的3點鐘方向。








3. 將兩隻手(用手掌厚肉部分)向轉盤中心擠壓陶泥。







4. 慢慢地把陶泥擠壓成一個圓錐體。








5. 一旦圓錐體成形,用左手包住陶泥,右手緊扣住左手拇指。

6. 用右手手刀位置往下壓陶泥,從圓錐體頂端慢慢向下壓。







7. 向下擠壓陶泥時,要確保左手穩定地支撐着陶泥,右手用力向下壓。

8. 重複這個“向上及向下擠壓”的動作,直到陶泥變得置中。

進階的拉坯技巧:

為了更快地置中,我們可以按照同樣的”向上及向下擠壓”動作,只使用手掌下部肌肉的兩個較厚部位。把手指鎖在圓錐體上,用一個平穩的動作向上和向下推,這個動作叫做揉搓陶泥。









高階拉坯技巧:

如果你是一個有經驗的陶藝家,你可以試著用一隻手定中心。這和雙手定中心所需的步驟是相同的,一樣需要重複“向上及向下擠壓”的動作,但只用一隻手。把你的手放在陶泥上,用你的手指把陶泥擠壓到你的手掌裏,然後從底部向上移動,用你大拇指(較厚的肌肉)的把它往下擠壓。

看完拉坯的各種小提示,有沒有更掌握到拉坯的技巧呢?

最後一個便是拉坯時的注意事項了:

1. 保持雙手穩定,不要被泥土帶動雙手

2. 不要突然鬆開雙手,以免令陶泥的中心歪掉

3. 保持陶泥在一個適當的濕度,令陶泥不會黏手而致中心歪掉或加水過多令陶泥變軟崩塌。

如果大家也有拉坯時遇到的小困難,歡迎留言和我們分享喔!

2 次瀏覽

 Tung Yao Ceramics © 2017

工作室 | Studio

上環普仁街4號

No. 4 Po Yan Street, Sheung Wan

Tel.: 2989 - 2300 /

Whatsapp: 6310 - 0255

 

Open Hours:

Mon - Tue 10:00 - 18:00

Wed - Fri  10:00 - 20:00

Sat & Sun 10:00 - 19:00

                    

展示間 | Showroom

中環鴨巴甸街14號

14 Aberdeen Street, Central

Tel./Whatsapp:

5321 - 7707


Open Hours:

Mon - Sun  11:00 - 19:00

客製化訂單專線 | Customise Order Information

Email: showroom@tungyaoceramics.com